Service Obligated Programs Database

Appalachian Regional Commission

Summary:The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) works with health care organizations or individual physicians to request a waiver of the 2-year home-country residence requirement on behalf of foreign-trained physicians holding J-1 visas. The program addresses the appalachian region's health care needs by improving access to physician services in areas that have difficulty attracting and retaining physicians.

Agency:Regional Economic Development Agency

Sponsor:New York State

Program Type:J-1 Visa Waiver

Length of Service:Minimum of three year commitment

Type of Designation Required:Primary care or mental health HPSA

Minimum HPSA Score Required:N/A

Place of Service Obligation:Inpatient and outpatient facilities in an Appalachian county (Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, and Tompkins).

Health Professionals Supported:Foreign-trained physicians

Additional Information:Sponsor is required to make a reasonable effort to recruit a U.S. doctor first, prior to opening the job to foreign-trained physicians.

Website Link: